Skip to content

another view of research…

February 2, 2014

lisa hammershaimb

video_link

So today I was out doing my usual fetch session with Ruby in the park across from my house. I love being outdoors because it clears my head and also gives Ruby a chance to spend some of her boundless energy. As we were playing today in snow that was definitely almost deeper than she is tall, it occurred to me (probably because I’m almost becoming borderline obsessive on the subject…yeah, not a total bad thing that I have to go back to work tomorrow and not spend 24/7 on these ideas) that playing fetch in deep snow is a lot like the research stuff I’ve been doing for the past several days. Seriously.

I’ve got my mini tennis ball, like my supervisor holds much of the “deep resources” I’m trying to untangle at the moment. When I fling it, I always can see where it is, how it’s connected to the wider world of the park, when Ruby is getting close to it, when she’s totally off base, etc. She sees the ball for a split second and then it’s gone and all she knows is a kind of vague, general direction of places to search for it. She runs as best she can then flings herself all around and about 2/3 of the time actually recovers the tennis ball. The other times, she gets distracted, goes down other paths, and then comes back to me where we recalibrate, find the tennis ball together, and give it another go. Brilliant, right? : )

I know there will come a time when I’ll be better about being self directed and eventually become way more brainy than my supervisor on my own topic but for now…yeah, not so much. So…here’s to the fetching journey of research!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

